Operation Heroic Rant

To start off, a little history. I’ve always liked writing, whether that be fiction or articles or whatever. A couple years back, I had the chance to do some regular writing that I could get feedback on – my weekly GM update on the guild site. The idea was to try and get more people visiting the guild site, and I enjoyed the challenge of writing a different topic each week. After a while though, I was beginning to get busy with other things, and the articles were only being read by about 5 or 6 people, so I decided to stop and start my own blog, which I could add to in my own time and (theoretically, at least) reach a larger audience. Of course, what ended up happening was that with the weekly deadline removed, I rarely got any articles written, and then when I stopped playing WoW I just stopped writing.

Fast forward a few months to now, and I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to do when I get out of Uni. While there are a lot of options open to me, I just can’t seem to think of any career path that I would actually enjoy… except possibly writing. After looking into writing as a career for some time, the same tip keeps coming up – if you want to write for a living, don’t think about it, don’t talk about it, just start writing and keep writing. And so, with that in mind, I figured I’d set myself a challenge. Namely, operation heroic rant. Because it being an operation makes it cool.

The premise is simple; I use this blog to write an article every day. The article can be about anything (I figure the name of this blog is apt enough even when I’m not talking about WoW) but it has to be a minimum of 500 words and a maximum of 1000. I’ll be coming out with articles about mmo game design, film reviews, opinions on controversy and news in the game world, views on politics and maybe even some observational comedy posts if I can work out a good format.

At the end of the day, this is an exercise to challenge myself, give me a real, tangible goal to reach for, and improve my writing skills. However, I will be linkng my daily post in my facebook and twitter feeds, and if anyone wants to read any of them and enjoy them, so much is the better. Hopefully I’ll receive some constructive criticism about my writing style too, so that I can develop my writing as much as possible. If anyone that does happen to read any of this likes my writing and wants to hear about a particular topic, just put in a comment below and I’m sure I’ll get round to it – I’ll have a lot of posts to fill.

Part of me figures that this will all probably end in a few weeks when I can no longer be bothered to write a post every day, try and cut it down to a couple times a week, then once a week, and then eventually I’ll just stop, but on the other hand I really need something to motivate myself right now, and this seems as good an idea as any. Whether I keep it up and my writing improves, only time will tell…

Leave a Reply

