Top 10 films in 2012 (Part 1)

I know it’s past midnight, but I haven’t slept yet so I’m counting this as the same day and therefore the operation is still go. I’ve been a bit video game heavy the past few posts, so I figured today I’d do something on film, and considering that I’m trying to write this quickly I won’t be doing anything too in depth. Instead, I’ve decided to make a list of the top 10 movies I’m looking forward to this year. Considering that I normally only go the cinema about 3 times a year, having 10 films that I’d happily go to the cinema to see is a pretty big deal – there are a lot of good films coming out in 2012. I probably won’t end up going to see them all straight away, but they’re certainly all on my to-watch list.

I’ll chop this post in half, partly so that it’s not all too much to read in one post, but mostly because I’m too lazy to write about all 10 now. So, without further stalling, my list of top ten films to see this year.

10. Brave

I’m not really the kind of person who you’d expect to enjoy kids animated films, but the fact is that a lot of films aimed as family entertainment are actually really good, and that tends to be especially true for animated films. I recently watch Tangled, and I’d really recommend it as an enjoyable, funny movie. A reason I’m looking forward to Brave even more is that it has a female protagonist – this means that they’ll be working extra hard to make it appealing to a male audience, which generally means a lot of humour. Some Pixar films end up being a little too childish, but I think the fantasy setting of this one will make it action oriented enough to be a fun watch.

9.  Wrath of the Titans

It may just be that anything with Liam Neeson in becomes awesome, but I really enjoyed the first film, a remake of the Clash of the Titans. I haven’t actually seen the original, and I’m sure it’s probably better, but the film was still pretty fun in an ‘epic fantasy action face-splosion’ kind of way (face-splosion is totally a word now). Some films fail pretty hard by just relying on special effects and action sequences (I’m looking at you, Transformers) but Clash of the Titans kept me interested throughout, and if the sequel is just more of the same, I’ll be happy to watch it. Also, I saw a trailer with Ralph Fiennes and Liam Neeson walking together and just casually destroying everything in their path – it was pretty awesome.

8. The Bourne Legacy

I’m not a massive fan of the Bourne films, but I enjoyed the first 3 and they all had some really cool scenes in them, and were generally well written as action films go. This sequel doesn’t star Matt Damon, which is a downside, but if it’s as well written as the others, it might even be better that it’s a different character. Origins tend to be a better idea after a few films, because the story with one character can only really go so far. The guy starring is the same guy playing Hawk-Eye in Avengers, who I haven’t seen in anything else to my memory, but unless he’s terrible I’ll assume this is a film to see.

7. Star Trek Sequel

This is where it is on the list because I’m not 100% sure when it’s coming out – IMDB says 2013 and everywhere else said 2012, so who knows. What I do know is, the first one was seriously awesome. I’m not even a Star Trek fan, but I’ve watched enough of it to catch a few of the in-jokes and appreciate Leonard Nimoy’s cameo. It probably helps that I just love sci-fi in general, but I just really loved the first film – the action scenes were awesome, the dialogue was fun and the plot was engaging throughout. The director, J.J Abrams, does have this weird fetish for lens flare, which is pretty fucking annoying at times, but other than that – same cast, same director and same writer mean the sequel should be pretty awesome.

6. Dark Knight Rises

I’m not really a big Batman fan. I’ve never been into comic books, and all superhero movies that I’ve seen have to stand on their own merit for me to enjoy them, and the previous Batman films really just felt lackluster to me. However, when watching The Dark Knight, I was very surprised about just how good it was. I think a lot of it had to do with Heath Ledger’s performance as the Joker (I know a few people have said its overrated because he died before the release, but I don’t agree with that at all), but overall the film was just really entertaining. I’m a little pessimistic that the sequel this year will be as good, but it should certainly be on everyone’s list of to-watch movies. I expect this will definitely be something to see in the cinema, unless I hear a lot of bad reviews beforehand.

Right, thats it for now. My top 5 list will be tomorrow (which is technically today, but eh, who cares), and hopefully you enjoyed this post enough to look forward to the next installment. Thanks everyone for reading, and remember you can follow me on twitter @heroicrant or subscribe to my feed using the widget on the right side of the page.

/end rant

Leave a Reply

